COVID-19 Updates

BSU is open. An initial plan to return to campus in the fall 2020 semester is now available.

Elected Officials


Maryland General Assembly

The Maryland General Assembly is the state’s elected legislative body.  It meets each year in Annapolis for 90 days beginning on the second Wednesday in January.  The General Assembly is comprised of 47 state Senators and 141 state Delegates. During the 90-day session, the legislature typically considers more than 2000 bills, including the State's annual budget.

Each year, the Governor presents a bill to the General Assembly containing the budget for state government for the next fiscal year. (In Maryland, the fiscal year begins July 1 and ends June 30.) The General Assembly may reduce the Governor's budget proposals, but it may not increase them. The budget must be balanced; i.e., total estimated revenues always must be equal to or exceed total appropriations.  

Bowie State’s Federal Representatives

Maryland State Officials

State Representatives for Bowie State

Bowie State’s Prince George’s County Representatives