Department of Fine and Performing Arts

Faculty & Staff

Faculty research and creative endeavors center on the interdisciplinary aspects of art, design, music, theatre, dance, performance art, studio, and multimedia. With continuing commitment to innovative activities, the faculty have achieved laudable success in both national and international forums of exhibitions and publications.

The perspective gained from this high level of engagement provides the diverse faculty and professional associate staff with an informed and unique pedagogical vision. The department incorporates this astute awareness of contemporary art practice, theoretical discourse, and in-depth knowledge of evolving technologies into an educational process, which is designed to enable students to achieve the successful realization of their creative projects and artistic goals. All faculty offices are now relocated to the new Fine and Performing Arts Center (FPAC).

Administrative Staff and Faculty

Tewodross Melchishua Williams, Dept. Chairperson
FPAC room 2124
tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu
Chair's office: 301-860-3751

Denise Ward, Administrative Assistant II
dward@bowiestate.edu
FPAC room 2124
301-860-3742

Shellie Ann Cruz, Office Clerk
scruz@bowiestate.edu
FPAC room 2112
301-860-4079 or 301-860-3750

Art (Studio)

Gina Lewis, Program Coordinator
glewis@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3715

Janell B. Pryor, Gallery of Art Coordinator
jpryor@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3719

Art Vidrine
avidrine@bowiestate.edu
301-860-4540

Music

Billy Bennett, Program Coordinator, Director, University Bands & Symphony of Soul
bbennett@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3783

Dr. Marymal Holmes, University Choir Director
mholmes@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3754

Dr. Gilbert Pryor
gpryor@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3753

Latonya Wrenn, Gospel Choir Director
lwrenn@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3757

Music Technology

Dr. Gilbert Pryor, Program Coordinator
gpryor@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3753

Dr. William Smith
wesmith@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3946

Theatre Arts

Jennifer Dorsey, Program Coordinator, Dance and Movement Studies
jdorsey@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3784

Kathryn Kawecki, Program Coordinator, Acting and Directing
kkawecki@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3756

Elena Velasco
evelasco@bowiestate.edu
301-860-5718

Bob Bartlett
bbartlett@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3769

VCDMA

Tewodross Melchishua Williams, Program Coordinator, Animation, Filmmaking, Hip-Hop Studies, Motion Graphics, Multimedia, Internship, Visual Culture, Visual Communication
tmelchishua@bowiestate.edu
Chair's office: 301-860-3751 and VCDMA: 301-860-3731

Danielle Brown, Lead Instructor, Fashion Design, CAD, Costume Design, Sewing
dbrown@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3717

University Bands

Billy Bennett, Director, University Bands & Symphony of Soul
bbennett@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3783

Jackie Collins-Smith, Program Management Specialist
jcsmith@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3762 

Fine and Performing Arts Center (FPAC)

Desire' Dubose, FPAC Arts Administrator & Events Coordinator 
FPAC RM 3123
ddubose@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3947

Cheryl Lee, Technical Director
FPAC RM 2247
cllee@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3360 

Carlos Campbell, Assistant Technical Director
FPAC RM 2203A
crcampbell@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3765

Noah Hudson, Event Technician
FPAC RM 3123
nhudson@bowiestate.edu
301-860-4132